Posted by: James Shannon | July 17, 2012

Lounging Atop The Lotus … Beating The Heat In Chiang Mai, Thailand

 Relaxing alongside the rooftop pool atop the Lotus Hotel, connected to the Central Plaza Kad Suan Kaew in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

As the days wore on in Chiang Mai, I was getting writing done, but the hot season was coming into full effect across Northern Thailand. Temperatures averaged 34-36c everyday that I was there, with heat indexes/humidexes soaring well into the 40’s.

The day I broke down, the air temperature peaked at 38c, with the heat index at 45c or so. I asked around about any hotel swimming pools I could take a dip in. More than a few recommended the pool on top of the Lotus Hotel, which was part of the Kad Suan Kaew mall complex northwest of the moat in the Old City. I went to investigate and I ended up spending quite the leisurely afternoon lounging by the refreshing waters of their pool in almost complete isolation, thanks to tourism being way down due to the forest fire smoke plaguing the region!

And with views like this, I wasn’t in a rush to leave…!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

