Posted by: James Shannon | July 16, 2011

In Motion: Three Ships Meet On The Andaman Sea, En Route To Koh Phi Phi

After a 36 hour travel binge, starting in Labuan, and ending in Krabi, I was finally back in my beloved Thailand, but in a new sector of the country … the much ballyhooed south.  I decided to make Krabi my home base for the week, and travel out to destinations in the area, including Koh Phi Phi.

Many folks stay on the island, as it has an established party culture, but I elected against it, and decided to make it a day trip, as I felt that many of the places were overpriced, and I was starting to count my 2 baht coins a little more carefully at that point in the trip 🙂

Regardless, for its notoriety in travel circles, and the status of Koh Phi Phi Le as the filming location of “The Beach” starring Leo DiCaprio, it was a definite curiousity for me, and hence, it was an itch that needed to be scratched.

Today’s In Motion comes from the ferry headed towards Koh Phi Phi; it was an amazing day (what day in Thailand isn’t?), and lying out on the gunwale was on the menu.  Much to the delight of my fellow deckmates, some Thai fishing boats approached, and greetings and pleasantries were exchanged…!

Leave a Reply

Categories

