Posted by: James Shannon | May 11, 2011

Deleted Scenes: Call To Prayer From The Sultan Mosque, Singapore

After a long day of barely sleeping off the all nighter from the night before, to running around in the rain to find my hostel, to having the first of many great meals that Singapore had to offer, I was exhausted.  Getting ready to retire for the evening, I heard an exotic sound I had not heard since I had touched down in Southeast Asia.  After realizing I was in the Islamic Quarter of the city, and that the famed Sultan Mosque was just down the street, it suddenly hit me:  “This is the call to prayer … wow!”

Such an exquisite melody to cap off a physically demanding, yet ultimately rewarding day.

Leave a Reply

Categories

