Posted by: James Shannon | February 28, 2011

Rainclouds Follow Me Wherever I Go OR Let’s Go See The Petronas Towers in KL!

Looking up the coast of Malaysia, I eyed up my next destination: the capital, Kuala Lumpur, it was. I was eagerly anticipating catching a view of the famous Petronas Towers, one of the highest skyscrapers in the world … but I was anticipating something a little more visceral than a mere structure: sunshine! Though I had caught the odd glimpse here and there over the last week or so, for the most part, I had been travelling through the midst of a vigorous Eastern monsoon season, so I was just a wee bit damp and discouraged, to say the least.

After arriving in a torrential downpour in the afternoon, I went to bed anticipating some rays after the storm clouds cleared up overnight.

The following morning …

$#@%!  Just lovely…

 

It was at this point I said, screw this, I’m going somewhere I know there’s some sun … I consulted my travel tweeps (people on Twitter I follow) and after hearing from the Soultravelers that it hadn’t rained in Penang since November, I booked a flight for the next day (all the buses and trains were full, yay Chinese New Year, the holiday that doesn’t end!)…

 

… but in the meantime, let’s see those towers, eh?!

 

 

The old train station downtown.  The present rail hub in Kuala Lumpur is KL Sentral, an ultra-modern facility that beats the pants off many airport terminals I’ve passed through.  But part of me wished that the trains still used this place, what a sight!

The weather finally broke as I reached the grounds of the KLCC (Kuala Lumpur City Centre), location of the Petronas Towers.  This impressive fountain is a proper introduction …

… for the towers themselves!  I got vertigo just looking up at them …

 

And then, just as quickly as I arrived, I skipped town in search of some solar Vitamin D.  Stay tuned for either a megapost or a series of posts (not sure yet what I’ll do) on Palau Pinang (Malay for Penang Island)!

Leave a Reply

Categories

