Posted by: James Shannon | January 16, 2011

Random Textual Thoughts From Penang (Code For $#!%’n Slow Internet)

Hey all, just a quick update … I’ve arrived in Penang, and I’m staying in an awesome house in the suburbs (you read right, the suburbs … on a tropical island in Southeast Asia, how wild is that)! It’s a place known as Annie’s Homestay, and it’s just like a suburban home, with the requisite differences (tile floors, the shower and the toilet in the same space etc etc).

Anyhow, this post is strictly a text post due to the bandwidth issues at the present moment; if the net speeds up at a later date, I will post more photo essays and after, I will resume with Deleted Scenes (I want to finish The Life of Pai series … the region really DID have a ton of stuff going on!)

I’m so glad to be back in the sun after being stuck in the monsoonal flow farther south in Malaysia … not to say it was a bad part of SE Asia to visit, but it’s hard to appreciate the nuances of your surroundings when you’re getting drenched 18 hours out of a 24 hour day! In the end, despite bus/train options, I ended up flying to this popular destination … in this part of the world, a multi-week party known as Chinese New Year is going on, cramming the former transport options to the gills. The rain in the south was getting to me so bad that I went with my sole option — the skies. Not that it cost me too much … a hour flight to Penang cost me about 140 RM (~$45 CDN), all extra fees included.

Well now that I’m here, now what? First, some beach surfing … I haven’t put in time on the sands since late November, back when I was on Koh Chang in Eastern Thailand, so lots of R&R straight ahead! Following that, Penang is noted for its food scene, with influences from Malay, Chinese, Islamic, Thai, Indian, and European (this country was colonized by the Dutch, and then the British prior to 1965) sources, so I’ll be eating my way slowly through the island.

Plus the random adventures and sights that crop up out of nowhere … those are always fun too!

Hope you all had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

Categories

