Posted by: James Shannon | December 27, 2010

Deleted Scenes: White Sand Nights

After almost two weeks in magical Pai, Thailand, I have begun my return journey south, with the eventual destination being … where else? Bangkok, Southeast Asia’s version of Rome; all roads lead to it! From there, I’ll be hopping a plane and heading to Singapore to kick off the first non-Thai portion of my trip.

Until then however, this show is on the road; tonight I write this from Chiang Mai, where I plan on riding out the remainder of the holiday season. I have no clue what I’m doing for NYE, though I’m sure it will all come together over the next 4-5 days or so (probably at the last minute 😛 ) Lots to do here, from exploring/climbing Doi Suthep, the mountain that towers over Chiang Mai, as well as visiting the highest point in Thailand, Doi Inthanon, which is as tall as Whistler’s mountain for my viewers tuning in from Jasper! There are alot of cooking classes about too, which I may enroll in if the mood strikes me. I even plan on doing something as benign as going to the movie theatre, as they are insanely cheap compared to North America, as I have noted in two of my Bangkok posts.

Your deleted scene du jour originates from Koh Chang, on my last night on the island. It was shot in the White Sand beach area of Koh Chang, where I located for two nights of work on the blog after spending a week without wifi access (very necessary for the production of this blog, as I need to upload videos/pictures from this computer). Simply put, this was me filming the evening’s festivities, to the surprise of Rob and Leanne, who steered me towards this bungalow hotel when I arrived in White Sand the previous day.

Oh, and if you’re wondering what the bungalow owner/operator is smoking, it’s perfectly legal strawberry-flavoured hookah tobacco … calm down DEA, no need to break down my door and haul me off to the clink! 😛

Reason for omission: Didn’t fit with the flow of the original post, so it fell to the cutting room floor.

Responses

  1. Great Blog. Have a fun time New Year’s Eve !

    Love Mom ❤

    • I will, thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

