Posted by: James Shannon | December 21, 2010

Christmas Musings From The Tropics … OR Waterfall Follies

As the holidays edges closer and closer, I scarcely notice it at all … I’m actually quite alarmed by it.  Though I suppose when you are removed from an environment where you are inundated with the visual and aural cues surrounding the season, you can’t be blamed for not getting in the spirit, as it were.  The lack of any sort of snow, Christmas songs, and delicious cookies/pies/eggnog/copious amounts of alcohol, and the presence of 12 hours of daylight and temperatures around 28-32c each day have meant that December the 25th has crept up on me and caught me unawares.

Even seeing a token Christmas tree (obviously fake) has me going, meh … not that I don’t think Christmas is bad … I love the holidays, and miss the fact that I won’t be with friends and family this go-around.  I just think its interesting how much these physical cues give us the feeling of the holiday season more than anything else; it’s as if they are imbued with the holiday spirit, and in the right combination and at the right time, it is released and everything feels magical and right!

But I digress…

Onward to another photo essay we go:  Part II of Sukhothai and area … we saw the historical side of the region, now it’s time to see the natural highlights of Northern Central Thailand…!

After the first couple of waterfalls, the hikes gets challenging … can anyone find the trail?  It got worse the higher up we went … the grades were 15-30 degrees over solid boulders … fun fun fun for the whole family!

The upper portion of Waterfall 4, the largest and last of the chutes we saw on our hike … it was truly magical to see and experience! This picture doesn’t convey that sentiment well at all, but the video below does a better job … seeing it in person though is 1000 times better, life landmark imo!


Maelinka frolics in the falling water … if you’re looking for a picture of me in there, sorry folks, but I was so caught up in the day that I didn’t get them to take one with my camera … if Oliver and Ash have a picture of me in there, I’ll post as soon as I get my hands on it!

 

After much lazing by the side of our own personal pool in the tropical wilds of Northern Thailand came the fun part — getting down.  Those same steep grades on the way up were far more harrowing when you had to crab-walk down these limestone boulders instead of properly climbing up them, the latter being far more secure!  Eventually we made it down in time to drive back to town before the sun set, giving us time to research plans for the next big journey … to Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand.

Leave a Reply

Categories

