Posted by: James Shannon | September 24, 2010

Visas, and Needles, and Decluttering (Oh My!): Trip Preps Continue as the Clock Ticks Down

Overcoming fears to accomplish a greater end: I got invaded by 3 of these suckers today!

Well, this blog took a little bit longer to get out than I thought, but that’s a combo of [a] firmly entrenched bad habits (passive entertainment ala Facebook/Twitter/Stumbleupon/Youtube/etc, you are the death of me!) and [b] being as busy as the Richardson Ground Squirrel gathering pine cones outside my apartment building.

Yes, it’s crunch time, and I have got much to do to prepare for my trip, and a decreasing amount of time in which to accomplish these ends.  I accomplished all my missions in Calgary, garnering the first non-North American stamp (Thai double entry visa) in my passport ever, and ordering “Vagabonding” by Rolf Potts from an Indigo kiosk (b/c there were no copies left in the entire city; it arrived this morning, yay)  I also got to see my new niece, fresh and healthy out of the womb, as evidenced by her fully functional lungs!

Today, I got stabbed not once, not twice, but THREE times by the public health nurse, as I got my shots for Hep A/B (1st of 3), Tetanus (4 years overdue 😛 ), and Typhoid.  This isn’t the end of the jabbings, as I gotta go back twice next week for a TB skin test and a Measles/Mumps/Rubella (MMR) booster, and my 2nd Hep A/B is due on the 25th of October!

The task of getting rid of my stuff also continues, as I dumped alot of knick-knacks flying under my personal radar as “keepsakes” and “mementos”; very little of contained that emotional pull necessary to stow it in an intentionally-sized small box (e.g. most of my pub crawl t-shirts from college fell into the dump-it category).

Just two large things to ditch still: the coffee table and the guitar.  I have last resort strategies for disposing of these things, but I’d rather make someone’s day by offloading them into their deserving hands!

As for advice and the philosophical ramblings I engaged in when this blog was going full steam earlier this year, my mind is still stuck in neutral, so give it a few more weeks and I’ll be back to ass-kicking form soon enough!

Leave a Reply

Categories

